Château d'Assier

At the heart of the Lot, between Figeac and Rocamadour, the castle is located at Assier. It was built between 1518 and 1535 in the style of the new pleasure palaces, while its owner was Jacques Galiot de Genouillac, first master of arms of François Ier. The castle consisted at the time of a vast quadrangle plan of 40 m square flanked by four massive round towers at each corner topped with domes to the upper deck.

This unique monument is a valuable testimony of the Renaissance architecture in Quercy. In 1768, Duc of Uzès, a descendant of Galiot of Genouillac, subject to the West Wing for agricultural purposes and sells the bulk of the castle to merchants of materials. Despite ranking in 1841 by Prosper Mérimée, the remaining wing is used as agricultural rebate until all remains to be acquired by the state in 1934. As early as 1901, many restorations are performed. Discover this extraordinary testimony of Renaissance art outside Val de Loire.

Accommodation nearby

Latest news onChâteau d'Assier