Le château d'Avignon


Around 1636, a watchtower and several chapels attached to the Boismeaux family and the monks of the abbey of Montmajour are built on the current field of Avignon. Jeanne d'Arlatan bought the estate in 1720. His son bought several areas around the farmhouse and converted into a castle.

In the 1880s, Louis Noilly Prat decided to build himself a Neo-Renaissance castle. He then acquired the Avignon castle that sits on the other side of the Petit Rhône. For decoration, he chose to ask Achilles Blanqui, the decorator Palais du Pharo in Marseille.

Today, the site is owned by the General Council of Bouches-du-Rhone. The county Domaine du Chateau d'Avignon is so open to the public. It offers visitors tours of heritage but also a cultural program combining contemporary art, live entertainment and a range of educational activities.


Accommodation nearby

85 € From
hotel-la-palunette saintes-maries-de-la-mer

Hôtel La Palunette

  • Saintes-maries-de-la-mer
  • 04 90 97 86 30
55 € From
hostellerie-du-pont-de-gau saintes-maries-de-la-mer

Hostellerie du Pont de Gau

  • Saintes-maries-de-la-mer
  • 04 90 97 81 53
88 € From
hotel-la-lagune saintes-maries-de-la-mer

Hôtel la Lagune

  • Saintes-maries-de-la-mer
  • 04 90 97 84 34

image reservation



Latest news onLe château d'Avignon