Le château des Roure


Known through the wars of religion, Roure Castle was built between the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries. During the seventeenth century, Louis XIII and Richelieu decided to shave the defensive parts of the castle.

In 1685, following the revocation of the Edict of Nantes, the Comte de Roure converts to Catholicism. In 1703, Jean Cavalier attack and took the Castle of La Bastide de Virac.

From 1975, the building is open to the public. Many parts, such as the stairs or the great hall of the first floor are classified as historical monuments by order of 20 March 1978.

Since 2002, the castle houses the Museum of Roure Silk. This museum immerses visitors in all stages of work silk thread to the fabric.


Accommodation nearby

225 € From
residence-la-cigale orgnac-l-aven

Résidence la Cigale

  • Orgnac-l'aven
  • 01 43 54 81 16
225 € From
residence-la-cigale orgnac-l-aven

Résidence la Cigale

  • Orgnac-l'aven
  • 04 66 39 06 53
17 € From
camping-la-combe barjac

Camping la Combe

  • Barjac
  • 04 66 24 51 21

image reservation



Latest news onLe château des Roure